Each edition of Photo London bestows a number of awards that mark outstanding achievement and potential in the field of photography.

Photo London Master of Photography

Through a special exhibition of their work at Photo London, and supported by a headline talk with the artist during the Fair, this award honours a living artist who has made an exceptional contribution to the art of photography.

Previous winners:
2017: Taryn Simon
2016: Don McCullin
2015: Sebastião Salgado


Photo London Residency Unlimited Award

Photo London invites each participating gallery at the Fair to nominate an emerging exhibiting artist for this unique award. Final selection is then decided by a panel of independent photography experts. Aimed at progressing the artist’s early career through a two month residency in New York with Residency Unlimited, the award provides invaluable exposure and experience.

Previous winners:
2016: Thibault Brunet (represented by Heinzer Reszler)
2015: Daisuke Yokota (represented by G/P gallery)


Magnum Photos Graduate Photographers Award

This Award provides an opportunity for new photographers, acknowledging the best emerging practitioners and providing them with exposure to both a public and highly professional audience. It is open to outstanding photographers who have graduated from a UK degree course relating to photography or lens-based media in the last three years. Supported by RBB Economics.

2017 Winners
2016 Winners
2015 Winners


Photo London is also proud to host the winners of:

MACK First Book Award

The First Book Award is a photography publishing prize open to photographers who have not previously had a book published. The award was established in 2012 to support emerging photographers and bodies of work that find a voice through the book form. Each year, a diverse array of international nominators are asked to recommend suitable projects from which 10 are shortlisted by a panel of photography experts. The winner is announced at Photo London alongside the publication of their book and an exhibition at Somerset House.

Previous winners include:

2017: Nothing’s in Vain by Emmanuelle Andrianjafy
2016: The Swamp by Sofia Borges
2015: I went to the worst of bars… by Ciarán Óg Arnold


Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards

The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards are the UK’s leading prizes for books published in the fields of photography and the moving image (including film, television and new media). With prize money of £10,000 divided between the Best Photography Book Award and the Best Moving Image Book published each year, the Awards celebrate excellence in photography and moving image publishing.

Previous winners include:

2017: Provoke: Between Protest and Performance by Diane Dufour, Matthew Witkovsky and Duncan Forbes (Steidl)
2016: The Erasure Trilogy by Fazal Sheikh (Steidl)
2015: Amore e Piombo by Roger Hargreaves and Federica Chiocchetti (AMC)